Monday, July 4, 2011

An opportunity for you: Telling Family Stories, Even When It Hurts


From Dr. Linda Joy Myers and the July 2011 National Association of Memoir Writers Digital Newsletter:

Jan Fishler and Elizabeth Rosner will speak on the topic of Telling Family Stories Even Though It Hurts. The writing process allows us to create an artistically rendered family story.

Jan’s memoir is about her journey to understand her adoption. Through the process of reflecting and searching for herself, she comes to terms with all the parental figures and the missteps that humans make.

Elizabeth Rosner, a child of Holocaust victims, draws upon her knowledge of this shadow world to create haunting and poetic fictional stories that reveal truth in its many layers and dimensions.

These discussions will continue our focus on truth, fiction, and memory at The National Association of Memoir Writers.

Jan and Elizabeth will talk about these themes and others at the National Association of Memoir Writers July Roundtable. It’s free to everyone to call into the Roundtable, listen, and ask questions.

Event Title: Telling Your Family Stories, Even When It Hurts
Date: Thursday July 7, 2011
Time: 4 PM PDT, 5 PM MDT, 6 PM CDT, 7 PM EDT, for about 1 hour

Remember--be brave, write your stories!

Linda Joy Myers, Ph.D., MFT
NAMW President & Founder

Here's a link for more information:

No comments:

Post a Comment